The PTT Pattaya Open is celebrating its 20th year

Posted on January 12, 2011


The PTT Pattaya Open, WTA Tour professional women’s tennis tournament is celebrating its 20th year in Pattaya in 2011. It was first staged in the Dusit Thani Hotel in 1991 and has been held there annually ever since, except in 1994 when the tournament missed one year due to moving to its current time slot in February.

The 2011 PTT Pattaya Open carries prize money of US$220,000 and will once again be held at the Dusit Thani Hotel, Pattaya from 6 – 13 February 2011.

Over the 20 years the tournament has been played in Thailand many well-known players have graced the courts at beach side resort such as Anna Kournikova, Martina Hingis, Patty Schnyder, Conchita Martinez and current top ten players: Caroline Wozniacki, Vera Zvonareva and Agnieska Radwanska. A strong player field will also be a feature of the 2011 PTT Pattaya Open with a former World No 1, Grand Slam champions and top ten players committing to the tournament.

The tournament has throughout its history supported Thai tennis players through the granting of wild cards to the most promising local players into both the main and qualifying draws. Over the course of its 20 year history the number of wild cards distributed to Thai players is in excess of 120, recipients of wild cards include Tamarine Tanasugarn, Noppawan Lertcheewakarn, Suchanun Wiratprasert, Benjamas Saengaram, Nudnida Luangnam, Nicha Lertpitaksinchai and many more.

For spectator comfort, another covered stand will be added at the Northern end of the stadium and more off-court activities are planned to mark the 20th anniversary of the tournament.

It was announced by the WTA, Women’s Tennis Association during the 2010 Player Awards that the PTT Pattaya Open was voted by the players on the WTA Tour as the “Tournament of the Year” amongst the international series tournaments. The PTT Pattaya Open is one of 32 events which make up the international series tournaments on the WTA Tour.Tournament Director, Mr. Geoffrey Rowe said that “we are very proud to be chosen by the players as their favourite tournament and the award is a vindication of the hard work done by everyone involved in the tournament. Winning the “Tournament of the Year” award will help to boost the image of Pattaya as a quality sporting destination and it is our aim to continually make improvements to the tournament for the benefit of the players, the media and the spectators.”

In 2011, the PTT Pattaya Open professional women’s tennis tournament  will be celebrating its 20th anniversary and to mark the occasion the organizers have lined up  a star studded field including Grand Slam champions, top ranked players and the best of the local talent.

The tournament will be held at the Dusit Thani Hotel, Pattaya from 6 – 13 February 2011. Qualifying rounds will be held on 6 – 7 February, with the main draw running from 7 – 13 February.

Event Name : PTT Pattaya Open
No of Years Held : Tournament is celebrating 20 years on the WTA Tour in 2011
Dates of Event : 6 – 13 February 2011
Venue : Dusit Thani Hotel, Pattaya
Event Category : Part of the WTA Tour for professional women tennis players. One of the international series of tournaments, which is equivalent to the ATP World Tour 250 series.
Prize Money : Total prize money US$220,000.
Ranking Points : Winner 280 points.
Runner-up 200 points.
Semi-finalist 130 points.
Quarter-finalist 70 points.
Players : Up to 48 of the world’s leading tennis players.
No of Courts : Three match courts with grandstands and one practice court on-site at the Dusit Thani. Grandstand capacity is 3,050 seats on final’s   weekend and 1,800 on weekdays.
Schedule of Play : Qualifying rounds: 6– 7 February 2011
Main Draw:           7 – 13 February 2011
Sanctioned by : Women’s Tennis Association.
Organised by : Pentangle Promotions Co., Ltd.
TV Coordinators : Kriscom Co., Ltd (Thailand broadcast).
IEC in Sports (International broadcast).
TV Exposure : In Thailand
“Live” coverage on Saturday 12 February and   Sunday 13 February from 15.00 – 17.00
Saturday 12 February 15.00 – 19.00 and Sunday 13 February 15.00 – 17.00. Broadcasts to Asia, Europe, Russia and North and South America.
Internet : “Live” streaming on broadband worldwide on Saturday 12 February and Sunday 13 February, the same times as international TV.
Tournament Officials : Tournament Director: Mr. Geoffrey Rowe.
WTA Supervisor: Mr. Jimmy Moore.
Referee: Mr. Ashita Attygala.
Chief of Umpires: Mr. John Parry.
Posted in: Pattaya