By The Air Presents #bumblebeephuket

Posted on September 2, 2014

0



On a recent humid day, I received an invitation from the By The Air group to join them at the Phuket Airpark. Located in the eastern part of Phuket Island, the Phuket Airpark is a private estate that hosts a lush, tropical airfield. Curious, I grabbed my camera and notebook and excitedly made my way to the destination.

Upon arrival to the Phuket Airpark, I was met by the three founding members of the By The Air group and a young, charismatic pilot from Sweden complete with aviator sunglasses. With rising anticipation, I sat down for an animated chat with the By The Air group and discovered why I had been invited to the Phuket Airpark. As storm clouds cleared from above, and the sunshine began to reappear from behind the clouds, I was introduced to the By The Air group’s new baby, affectionately nicknamed #bumblebeephuket.

#bumblebeephuket is an AutoGyro Cavalon. The AutoGyro Cavalon is a German AutoGyro and is supplied as a complete ready-to-fly aircraft. The AutoGyro Cavalon was a RedDot Design Award Winner in 2012, and winner of the German Design Award in 2014. Without a doubt, it is a sleek, sexy little machine. #bumblebeephuket is yellow and black, hence the nickname, and can reach a maximum cruising speed of 160 kilometers per hour. By The Air’s AutoGyro Cavalon is also quite compact measuring a length, width and height of 4.7m x 1.8m x 2.8m.

Winner of the German Design Award in 2014, the AutoGyro Cavalon is a sleek, sexy little machine.

Winner of the German Design Award in 2014, the AutoGyro Cavalon is a sleek, sexy little machine.

Once I was briefed on the specifications of #bumblebeephuket, I walked over to the Phuket Airpark hangar with the members of the By The Air group and the pilot, who I found out was called Tim, to have a site inspection. By The Air’s AutoGyro Cavalon is cute; there is no doubt about that. Standing next to #bumblebeephuket in the hangar, admiring its sleekness, and noticing that there were no doors on the AutoGyro Cavalon I started to panic. Knowing that I was going up in a test flight, the only thing that kept crossing my mind was that I was going to fall out! The young, charismatic pilot with the aviator glasses, Tim, sensed my fear and started speaking to me about the safety standards of the aircraft and how I didn’t need to worry or be scared, and how once I was up in the air, I was going to be completely amazed. I smiled politely, crawled in and allowed myself to be buckled into the passenger seat. I listened intently as Tim explained to me how not to lose my camera, took a deep breath and closed my eyes as the engine was fired up, and the propeller started to rotate. And then, just as quick as a real life bumblebee, we were off.

By The Air’s AutoGyro Cavalon takes off!

By The Air’s AutoGyro Cavalon takes off!

I didn’t open my eyes for at least two minutes, and when I did, I was completely awe struck. I was soaring over Phuket’s eastern coast, and the only thing I could see was gorgeous turquoise water, islands, boats and a splattering of fishing shacks. The scenery was stunning; it was absolutely breathtaking to see Phuket from above. I giggled, and the pilot smiled and said, “I told you that you wouldn’t be scared.” Throughout the flight, Tim, the pilot, made me feel completely at ease. He answered all of my questions about each location we were soaring over, and engaged in normal conversation, too. It was refreshing to experience just how knowledgeable he is about the AutoGyro Cavalon, and truth be told, I was a bit sad when we headed back to the landing field at the Phuket Airpark as I knew this unbelievable, perhaps once in a lifetime, experience was coming to an end.

See Phuket from a different view with By The Air’s AutoGyro Cavalon #bumblebeephuket

See Phuket from a different view with By The Air’s AutoGyro Cavalon #bumblebeephuket

The AutoGyro Cavalon affectionately nicknamed #bumblebeephuket is housed at the Phuket Airpark. The Phuket Airpark is a public facility, so you are welcome to visit anytime. If you would like a personal tour of the airpark or of the AutoGyro Cavalon, please feel free to contact the By The Air group at +66 93 592 7558.

We are happy to sign-up any students who wish to become pilots with the Cavalon now. To get further details, please call 093-592-7558.

Words: Amy Bensema

Posted in: Uncategorized