Westwood snatches Thailand title

Posted on December 15, 2014

0



Lee Westwood claimed his 14th title in Asia after reeling off seven birdies in 10 holes to snatch a one-shot victory at the Thailand Golf Championship.

Westwood, 41, began the day in third and got off to a poor start with bogeys on the first two holes, but his dramatic birdie streak allowed him to climb above the faltering pair of Marcus Fraser and Martin Kaymer, finishing with a five-under 67 to move to eight under overall.

Fraser could have forced a play-off against Westwood with a par at the final hole, but missed his deciding putt from five feet. He had to make do with second place, with Kaymer in third and Englishman Tommy Fleetwood back in fifth.

“I didn’t get off to the best of starts and gave myself an awful lot to do,” said Westwood. “I knew I had to refocus and gave myself a talking to.

“I found my swing at the sixth and after that I really got going with four straight birdies.”
Former world No.1 Westwood, who captured the inaugural Thailand tournament in 2011 and this year won the Malaysian Open by seven shots, also picked up $1 million (£600,000) in prize money.
“There’s nothing like finishing a year strongly to give you a bit of momentum for the next year,” he said.
“Asia is a fantastic place to come and play golf. It’s been a good last day of school.”

Read more at http://www.espn.co.uk/golf/sport/story/379723.html#qxLPstQ3oiVe7s0R.99

Posted in: Uncategorized